The Preparatory Office of the Institute of Biomedical Sciences (IBMS) was established in February 1981 under the leadership of Dr. Paul N. Yu. Dr. Shu Chien (Director of the Preparatory Office from January 1987 to June 1988) invited a group of more than 20 scientists from around the world to set up laboratories in IBMS. On December 1, 1993, the IBMS was formally established and Dr. Cheng-Wen Wu (Director of the Preparatory Office from 1988 to 1993) was appointed as its first Director. Dr. Kenneth Kun-Yu Wu took over the directorship in January 1997 and then Dr. Yuan-Tsong Chen was appointed as the Director in July 2001. Dr. Fu-Tong Liu is the current Director of IBMS since July 2010.